McMorris Rodgers, Newhouse Lead Bipartisan Resolution for Missing and Murdered Native Women and Girls

Washington, D.C. – Eastern Washington Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05) and Congressman Dan Newhouse (WA-04) today introduced a bipartisan resolution to designate May 5, 2022 as the National Day of Awareness for Missing and Murdered Native Women and Girls.

“Too many women in America find themselves living in fear of becoming a victim of violence and predatory behavior. This is especially true in Washington State, where Native American women are murdered or go missing at the second-highest rate in the country,” said Rodgers. “This is a statistic we should be doing everything in our power to change for the tribes in our Eastern Washington community. I’m proud to help lead this resolution to stand with the families of every victim and reaffirm our commitment to ending this nationwide crisis before another innocent life is lost.”

The resolution demonstrates the lawmakers’ solidarity with the families and loved ones of missing and murdered indigenous women, and it calls on the people of the United States to commemorate the lives of American Indian and Alaska Native women whose cases are documented and undocumented in public records and the media.

“While Native Americans make up 2% of our state’s population, Native Women account for 7% of our state’s reported missing women. Those statistics are unacceptable, and despite these sad and staggering numbers in our community, the closest Cold Case Task Force Office is currently located in Billings, Montana,” said Newhouse. “Establishing a Cold Case Task Force Office in Yakima is imperative if we want to keep moving forward in addressing this crisis. We must continue to take up the banner for those who no longer are able to. They deserve answers, and I will continue working to deliver them.”

Rodgers and Newhouse were joined in introducing the resolution by Representatives Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Kim Schrier (WA-08), Adam Smith (WA-09), Cliff Bentz (OR-02), Matt Rosendale (MT-AL), Kelly Armstrong (ND-AL), Chris Stewart (UT-02), Markwayne Mullin (OK-02), Tom Cole (OK-04), Stephanie Bice (OK-05), David Joyce (OH-14), Dusty Johnson (SD-AL), Maria Elvira Salazar (FL-27), Pete Stauber (MN-08), and Jay Obernolte (CA-08).

CLICK HERE for the full text of the resolution.


Recent Posts

Jun 21, 2024

McMorris Rodgers Presents Purple Heart To Korean War Veteran From Usk

Usk, Wash. – Yesterday afternoon, Eastern Washington Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05) presented 94-year-old U.S. Army veteran, Corporal Donald Donner, with the Purple Heart in recognition of the wounds he sustained while courageously fighting in the Korean War. Cpl. Donner enlisted in the Army in 1948 and was originally stationed in Japan as a radio […]

Jun 18, 2024

McMorris Rodgers Responds to Biden Administration’s Sham Report on Columbia River System

Spokane, Wash. – Eastern Washington Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05) released the following statement after the Department of the Interior published a report today on the “Historic and Ongoing Impacts of Federal Dams on the Columbia River Basin Tribes.” “This bad faith report is just the latest in a long list of examples that prove […]

Jun 14, 2024

McMorris Rodgers Statement Remembering George Nethercutt

Washington, D.C. – Eastern Washington Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05) released the following statement honoring former U.S. Representative George Nethercutt, who passed away today. “My heart is sad. George Nethercutt was a giant amongst men who served the people of Eastern Washington with honor and patriotism for a decade. George was a man of character […]