McMorris Rodgers, DeFazio to Co-Chair Northwest Energy Caucus

Mar 02, 2015
Clean Energy

Washington, D.C.– Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05) and Rep. Peter DeFazio (OR-04) announced today that they will serve as co-chairs of the newly reorganized Northwest Energy Caucus. This bipartisan group is dedicated to the responsible management of Pacific Northwest energy resources, including the continued availability of low-cost power in the region.

“We owe it to the Pacific Northwest and to the rest of the country to expand an energy source that will not only lower energy costs, but create thousands of jobs – and that’s hydropower,” McMorris Rodgers said. “Through the Northwest Energy Caucus, we will continue to work across the aisle to support our region’s top priorities – including the Columbia River Treaty. Energy bills are jobs bills, and our Caucus will work to promote hydropower, our nation’s largest, cleanest, most affordable, reliable, and renewable energy source.”

“The Pacific Northwest is home to a unique resource that has provided clean, reliable, cheap power and has served as the economic backbone of the region for decades,” DeFazio said. “With that in mind, we all have a stake in managing the Northwest federal hydropower system wisely. As a united front, we will continue working on a bipartisan basis to enhance and protect this resource, especially as we navigate new and complex challenges such as the Columbia River Treaty, the refinement of the salmon recovery plan and the integration of renewable power into the grid.”

Current Membership in the Northwest Energy Caucus for the 114th Congress:


Cathy McMorris Rodgers WA-05 (Co-chair)

Suzan DelBene, WA-01

Jaime Herrera Beutler, WA-03

Dan Newhouse, WA-04

Derek Kilmer, WA-06

Jim McDermott, WA-07

Dave Reichert, WA-08

Denny Heck, WA-10


Peter DeFazio, OR-04 (Co-Chair)

Greg Walden, OR-02

Earl Blumenauer, OR-03

Kurt Schrader, OR-05


Mike Simpson, ID-02


Ryan Zinke, MT-At Large

Recent Posts

Jun 14, 2024

McMorris Rodgers Statement Remembering George Nethercutt

Washington, D.C. – Eastern Washington Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05) released the following statement honoring former U.S. Representative George Nethercutt, who passed away today. “My heart is sad. George Nethercutt was a giant amongst men who served the people of Eastern Washington with honor and patriotism for a decade. George was a man of character […]

Jun 14, 2024

House Approves McMorris Rodgers Priorities, Pay Raise For Troops in Annual Defense Package

Washington, D.C. –  Eastern Washington Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05) today released the following statement after the House of Representatives passed the FY25 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA), which included two provisions she wrote and a number of wins for servicemembers in Eastern Washington: “This year’s National Defense Authorization Act is a critical investment that […]

Jun 4, 2024

McMorris Rodgers Announces 2024 Congressional Art Competition Winner: Hawwi Jebena from Spokane

Washington, D.C. – Today, Eastern Washington Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05) announced Hawwi Jebena as the winner of the 2024 Congressional Art Competition from Washington’s Fifth Congressional District.  WINNER: “Manito Park” by Hawwi Jebena Hawwi Jebena’s acrylic painting, “Manito Park,” is the winner of the 2024 Congressional Art Competition for Eastern Washington. Hawwi attends Gonzaga […]